Greek Cooking

Definitely forget the old and lasting idea of a rustic Greek cooking, bathing in oil: Greece is now a real paradise for gourmets!

The Greek cuisine, of Mediterranean type, uses a lot of extra virgin olive oil and is among the healthiest. The "Cretan diet" is recommended by dieteticians all over the world.

Of course you'll always find the traditional moussaka and souvlaki, and the good old stuffed vine leaves. Obviously, you can come across bad taverns and tourist traps. But on the whole, you'll find fine dining and sophisticated dishes in Greece.

Feel free to discover: don't be afraid to taste dishes that at first seem surprising, such as fried cheese, garlic salad, wild herbs... You'll jump from culinary surprises to true revelations...

To find good restaurants, there is an almost foolproof trick: check the wine list... If there is a nice choice, the cooking is likely to be a good one! Of course, it's not an absolute rule because wine in bottles is not the everyday standard, but it's a rather good tip.

As for solicitations by waiters or the chief on the sidewalk, it's not always a bad sign... Feel free to visit the kitchen, the cook will be happy to show you the dishes and try to explain how they are made!

Don't rely on dishes' price to get an idea of ‚Äč‚Äčtheir quality: some trendy restaurants, recommended by guides, charge way too much, while unpretentious taverns offer delicious food at reasonable prices.

We won't compile here a huge panorama of Greek cuisine, there are far too many dishes to mention, and a lot of local specialties. We'll just try and make you wish to taste it.

Discover our small selection (of course very subjective and incomplete) of dishes you definitely have to taste...

Starters | Dishes | Desserts

La cuisine grecque

Oubliez définitivement la vieille image d'une cuisine grecque rustique, lourde et baignant dans l'huile: il y a bien des années que la Grèce est devenue un paradis pour les gastronomes

Sa cuisine de type méditerranéen, qui utilise beaucoup l'huile d'olive, fait partie des plus saines du monde. Ce n'est pas pour rien que l'on parle de «régime crétois» en diététique.

Bien sûr, on y trouve toujours la traditionnelle moussaka, les sempiternels souvlakis et les éternelles feuilles de vigne farcies. Evidemment, on peut tomber sur d'infâmes gargotes ou des pièges à touristes. Mais dans l'ensemble, on mange très bien en Grèce et l'on y trouve des plats raffinés.

N'hésitez pas à faire des découvertes: il ne faut pas avoir peur de goûter à des plats qui à première vue paraissent surprenants, tels les fromages frits, les salades d'ail ou les herbes sauvages. Vous irez de bonnes surprises en révélations culinaires...

Pour trouver les bons restaurants, il existe un truc presque infaillible: consultez la carte des vins... si elle est bien fournie, la cuisine a toutes les chances d'être à la hauteur! Ce n'est bien sûr pas une règle absolue parce que ce n'est pas le vin en bouteilles qui est le plus consommé, mais c'est un bon indice.

Quant au racolage sur le trottoir, ce n'est pas forcément un mauvais signe... N'hésitez pas à aller voir les plats en cuisine, les restaurateurs se feront un plaisir de vous les montrer et de tenter de vous expliquer de quoi ils sont faits!

Ne vous basez pas sur le prix des plats pour vous faire une idée de leur qualité: certains restaurants à la mode ou recommandés par les guides pratiquent des prix surfaits, alors que de petits estaminets sans prétention servent des plats succulents à petits prix.

On ne dressera pas ici un panorama de la cuisine grecque, elle est bien trop foisonnante, avec d'innombrables spécialités locales. On va juste tenter de vous donner envie d'y goûter. Découvrez notre petite sélection (bien sûr très subjective et incomplète) de ce que vous devriez absolument découvrir...

Entrées | Plats | Desserts